African Banker Awards
Benno Ndulu
Best Regional Bank
Central Bank
East Africa
Equity Bank
Equity Group
James Mwangi
Omar Ben Yedder
Publisher of African Banker
Rand Merchant Bank
South Africa
South Korea
Standard Bank Group

Equity Group, Dr James Mwangi win big at the African Banker Awards

NAIROBI, Kenya, May 27 – Equity Group CEO Dr. James Mwangi has been voted banker of the year during the 12th edition of the African Banker Awards held in Busan, South Korea.

Mwangi was feted as a result of his leadership and vision in driving the growth of Equity Bank and providing leadership in the banking industry in Africa.

The bank also beat other banks to win the ‘African Bank of the Year’ Award, owing to its drive towards financial inclusion, new services and new technologies.

Tanzania’s former central bank governor Dr Benno Ndulu, who finished his second term last year won Central Bank Governor of the year for his work in pushing for financial inclusion as well as for sound macroeconomic management.

Tanzania’s CRDB was named the ‘Best Regional Bank in East Africa’.

South African banks dominated the investment banking and deals of the year categories with Standard Bank Group taking three awards that include the one for ‘Investment Bank of the Year’.

The bank, alongside Rand Merchant Bank in South Africa, took the ‘Infrastructure Deal of the Year’ for the $5bn Nacala corridor rail and port project in Mozambique and Malawi, one of Africa’s largest private sector funded infrastructure projects.

“The winners of the African Banker Awards reflect the innovation and energy within Africa’s banking market. The categories that most catch my eye are the Deals of the year and the ones on innovation. They reflect the true energy and vigour of the banking sector,” Omar Ben Yedder, Publisher of African Banker said.

Share this Post