Council of Governors Finance Committee
EU Development Cooperation Hubert Perr
Joyce Labosso
Kenya Revenue Authority
Lake Nakuru
Treasury Principal Secretary Kamau Thuge

EU to invest Sh2.1b in 15 counties

NAKURU, Kenya, May 11 – The European Union will invest more than Sh2.1 billion in Kenya’s development projects.

Head of EU Development Cooperation Hubert Perr said the organisation would also align its projects to the government’s Big Four Agenda.

Speaking at Lake Nakuru Lodge during a two-day meeting with a team from treasury and donor Representatives from different nations, Perr said the projects will run for five years.

He said Sh1.5b would support projects in 15 counties while an additional Sh700 million would be spent on national projects.

Perr who was flanked by Treasury Principal Secretary Kamau Thuge and Bomet Governor Joyce Labosso said EU was committed to supporting devolution.

“It was a challenge picking 15 out of the 47 counties but we considered many things, especially challenges such as poverty and climate,” he said.

He added that the EU had picked counties in the Arid and Semi-Arid Lands, the Lake region and Coast.

Labosso said EU’s support for devolution was welcome and would go a long way in ensuring development at the grassroots level.

The chairperson of the Council of Governors Finance Committee said this was the first time Governors were being involved in EU’s project planning.

She also noted that the EU has special plans for women in development.

Finance PS said the Treasury was engaging partners on ways to increase efficiency and ensure funds are channeled to the right projects.

Thuge said the government was also mobilizing resources through the Kenya Revenue Authority for faster economic development.

“Treasury is also mobilizing resources for development through its internal mechanisms such as Kenya Revenue Authority.

Share this Post