Continental Free Trade
Economic Processing Zones
Joint Commission
Mauritius Foreign Affairs
Special Economic Zones
State House

Kenya, Mauritius urge speedy implementation of AfCFTA

NAIROBI, Kenya, Mar 23 – President Uhuru Kenyatta Friday morning at State House, Nairobi, held talks with the Mauritius Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade Minister, Seetanah Lutchmeenaraidoo, who paid him a courtesy.

During their talks, they agreed on the need for African countries to expedite the implementation of the historic African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement (AfCFTA).

Forty-four African countries signed up to the historic trade agreement aimed at paving the way for a liberalized market for goods and services across the continent.

The trade agreement was signed during the 10th Ordinary Session of African Union Heads of State summit held in the Rwandan capital, Kigali.

President Kenyatta and Lutchmeenaraidoo also discussed bilateral issues relating to blue economy, the development of Economic Processing Zones (EPZ) and Special Economic Zones in which Mauritius has substantial experience.

The President said there is need for the two countries to strengthen their financial services so as to give better services to their citizens.

The President also invited Mauritius to co-sponsor the High-Level Conference on Sustainable Blue Economy Conference scheduled to be hosted by Kenya in November this year.

The President and the visiting Mauritius Foreign Minister also talked on the next review meeting of the Joint Commission of Cooperation-(JCC) to be held in May this year.

Share this Post