Judicial Service Commission
National Assembly
National Police Service Commission
Parliamentary Service Commission
Public Service Commission
Teachers Service Commission

MPs vote to convert salaries agency into full time commission

Commissioners to the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) will now serve on permanent basis after MPs approved law changes to convert it from part time basis.

The National Assembly voted unanimously to send an omnibus legislation containing the SRC tenure changes to President Uhuru Kenyatta for assent.

Currently, the law stipulates that the SRC chairperson and members should serve on part-time basis for a non-renewable term of six years.

The SRC currently has no chairperson and commissioners after the term of the Sarah Serem- led team expired in December 2017.

Last week they passed the Statute Law (Miscellaneous Amendment) Bill, 2017 that makes minor amendments that do not merit publication of separate Bills to amend existing Statutes.

“The Bill seeks to amend the Salaries and Remuneration Act, 2011 so as to provide for the commissioners to be full time,” the Bill states.

The changes will also allow the President choice in making his nomination of the chairperson as contemplated under Article 230(2) (a) of the Constitution.

The Article stipulates that the chairperson of the SRC shall be appointed by the President.

The President will pick his choice from among three names forwarded to him by a Selection Panel appointed by the Public Service Commission.

The new changes to the SRC Act will also require the President to nominated members of the commission from each category and forward the names together with his nominee for chairperson of the commission to the National Assembly for vetting within seven days of receipt of names from the Selection Panel.

The SRC commissioners comprise one representative of the Parliamentary Service Commission, the Public Service Commission, the Judicial Service Commission, Teachers Service Commission, National Police Service Commission, Defence Council and the Senate, on behalf of the county governments.

Share this Post